Planning / Zoning



Carol Windham

Mrs. Windham received her Bachelor of Science from Stephen F. Austin State University in 1996, majoring in Political Science with a minor in history. She began her career with the City of White Oak Texas as Director of Community and Economic Development. In that position her duties consisted of being Staff liaison for the Planning and Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Adjustments and the White Oak Chamber of Commerce. She also served as Executive Director of the White Oak Economic Development Corporation. In 2003, she accepted the position of Senior Planner for the City of Tyler, Texas. As Senior Planner she worked with multiple developers, citizens, and Departments in interpretation and compliance of codes and responsible development of properties in a fast growing City. In June of 2006, she accepted the position of Director of Planning and Zoning for the City of Kilgore. Carol is a member of the American Planning Association and the Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association.

The mission of the Planning & Zoning Department is to provide the residents, business, and industrial community with fair, progressive, consistent, efficient, and effective development standards and planning programs to protect environmental resources; to encourage citizen participation and communication; to promote effective infrastructure improvement and expansion for the health, safety, and welfare of residents; and to provide high quality development standards to maintain and improve the quality of life in the city and the future growth of the city.

Functions of the Planning Department:

  • Annexations
  • Process Applications for Rezoning, Subdivsion Plats, and Variance request
  • Comprehensive Planning
  • Preparing and researching easement documents
  • Review of Building and Sign Permits
  • Addressing within the City Limits
  • Flood Plain Management
  • Housing


Planning and Zoning Board Members:

Phil Patterson, Chairman
David Stanley, Vice Chairman
B.J. Clark, Secretary
Fallon Burns
Randy Renshaw
Daniel Gantt
Bobby Hale


Zoning Board of Adjustment Members:

Craig Jaynes
James Mitchell
Larry Perkins
India Stroope
William Woodard


Helpful Links:

Gregg County Appraisal District
Gregg County

Rusk County Aprraisal District

Rusk County